Yvonne Maria Schaefer
official website

Boxing Hall of Fame


Boxing Hall of Fame 2009 (Syracus and Canasota)

The Parade of Champions, set for Sunday, June 14th at 1:00 p.m., will pass through the streets of Canastota and lead to the grounds of the Hall of Fame Museum prior to the start of the Official Induction Ceremony honoring the new class of inductees.

Living inductees to be honored at the Official Induction Ceremony are bantamweight champion Orlando Canizales, heavyweight champion Lennox Lewis, junior lightweight champion Brian Mitchell, matchmaker / publicist / promoter Bob Goodman, promoter Akihiko Honda, journalist Hugh McIlvanney and broadcaster Larry Merchant. Posthumous inductees will also be honored. Over 40 boxing stars, including Marvelous Marvin Hagler, Ken Norton, Angelo Dundee, Emile Griffith, Micky Ward and Leon Spinks will be highlighted in the Parade of Champions. "With the lineup of marching bands, boxing celebrities, Burt Young and Federico Castelluccio, this should be our biggest parade ever and an unforgettable day for all," said parade chairperson Charlene Barres. The 2009 Parade of Champions is sponsored by Nice N Easy Grocery Shoppe. The June 11-14th Hall of Fame Induction Weekend will feature over 20 exciting events including a banquet, boxing autograph card show, cocktail party and the Official Induction Ceremony honoring the Class of 2009. For more information on the Hall of Fame’s 20th Annual Induction Weekend please call (315) 697-7095 or visit